Someday, Someday, Maybe

Posted on Updated on

19183634_3701

This is Lauren Graham’s (Gilmore Girls, Parenthood) debut novel, Someday, Someday, Maybe. For a first novel, this one is not bad, as I have not ever attempted to write one myself. But to be honest, I was disappointed.

The novel takes place in 1995. It is about Franny Banks, a young waitress struggling to become an actress in the Big Apple. She’s given herself a deadline, 3 years, to “make it” as an actress. However, her deadline is about up and all she has gotten is a lot of failed auditions and a couple of commercials.

Franny is accepted into a prestigious acting class where she meets some interesting people, one of whom, James Franklin, she starts to fall for. He is an experienced actor, who has done a few movies and she is in awe of him as an artist. Her roommates, Jane and Dan, encourage her acting career and try the best they can to be supportive.

The story is told in Franny’s voice, following her every thought and feeling about acting and whether or not she can make it. She often doubts herself and her talent, which is why she likes James so much because he believes in her. About half-way through the book, the story takes a turn when Dan, her sci-fi screenwriter roommate, professes his love for her after his fiance leaves him. This love triangle was too predictable and neither man seems right for Franny.

I was fond of the format of the novel. Every few chapters, the section would end with several day-planner entries of Franny’s week, such as her appointments, plays, and dates with James. Doodles and notes filled these pages. Each chapter also began with voicemail messages from people in Franny’s life, ending with the inevitable, “Beeeeep.”

I am a huge fan of Lauren Graham. Gilmore Girls and Parenthood are two of my favorite shows, which is why I was so excited to read her novel. But I was disappointed. I felt as if the novel was a made-up character living Lauren Graham’s experiences as a young actress. I have not read up a lot on Graham’s life, but I do know there were some similarities between her and the character of Franny. I would have been more satisfied if she had written a memoir or autobiography instead. I much prefer reading about an actor’s life than an actor writing about a character becoming an actor. But I applaud her bravery at writing such a novel and trying her hand at another art.

I give this novel a 2/5.

6 thoughts on “Someday, Someday, Maybe

    Mo Smith said:
    January 24, 2016 at 7:50 pm

    This makes me sad. 😦 I appreciate your review, but when I finally get to this one, I hope we disagree lol. I’m also a Lauren Graham fan so I really want to like it, but I would be lying if I said I had high hopes.

    Like

      cnwyatt13 responded:
      January 24, 2016 at 7:53 pm

      It did get better in the middle but I didn’t like the ending 😦

      Liked by 1 person

    jessreadingnook said:
    January 24, 2016 at 9:37 pm

    I don’t know if I’d ever read this, but I’m sad to see it wasn’t that great. I love Lauren Graham!

    Like

    Lukraakvars said:
    January 26, 2016 at 2:35 pm

    Lauren Graham is awesome, didn’t even know she wrote a novel. I must admit I didn’t like Gilmore Girls that much apart from the dialogues and their wit.

    Like

      cnwyatt13 responded:
      January 26, 2016 at 10:24 pm

      Oh I loved Gilmore Girls! Just bummed the book wasn’t as good as I thought.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

